Commission on Scottish Devolution

An independent review of the experience of devolution in Scotland

Header Image Commission on Scottish Devolution: Commission Members
Faic an duilleag seo sa Ghàidhlig

Commission members

Note: Although some Commission members are described in terms of offices they hold with named organisations, they serve on the Commission in a personal capacity and not on behalf of those organisations.


Sir Kenneth Calman

Chancellor of the University of Glasgow


Colin Boyd

Former Lord Advocate, member of the House of Lords (Labour)

Rani Dhir MBE

Executive Director, Drumchapel Housing Co-operative

Professor Sir David Edward

Retired Judge of the European Court

Murray Elder

Member of the House of Lords (Labour)

Audrey Findlay

Former Leader of Aberdeenshire Council, Convener of the Scottish Liberal Democrat Party

Jamie Lindsay

Former Scottish Office Minister, member of the House of Lords (Conservative), Chairman of the Scottish Agricultural College

John Loughton

Youth activist and former Chairman of the Scottish Youth Parliament

Murdoch MacLennan

Chief Executive, Telegraph Media Group

Shonaig Macpherson

Chair of the National Trust for Scotland and of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry

Iain McMillan

Director, CBI Scotland

James Selkirk

Former Scottish Office Minister, member of the House of Lords (Conservative)

Mona Siddiqui

Professor of Islamic Studies, University of Glasgow

Matt Smith

Scottish Secretary, UNISON

Jim Wallace

Former Deputy First Minister, member of the House of Lords (Liberal Democrat)

Mona Siddiqui

Mona Siddiqui

Mona Siddiqui is Professor of Islamic Studies and Public Understanding at the University of Glasgow and the Director of the Centre for the Study of Islam. Born in Pakistan she grew up in England and, since 1991, has been living in Glasgow. She graduated from the university of Leeds with an Honours degree in Arabic and French and went on to do a Masters in Middle-Eastern Studies at the university of Manchester where she also completed her doctorate on the rules of marriage in classical Islamic law.

Between 2002 and 2005, Professor Siddiqui became the first Muslim woman to be appointed Head of the Theology and Religious Studies Department at Glasgow University. She now sits on the University Court and represents the university as a governor for Glasgow Academy. In addition to her academic commitments, she works with a wide range of media and broadcasts frequently for the BBC. She is a regular contributor to the religious slot, Thought for the Day, on BBC Radio 4 and BBC Scotland. She is currently Chair of the Scottish Religious Advisory Committee for BBC Scotland. She also contributes frequently to opinion pieces in the national press.